Skip To Main Content

Desktop Translate

Board of School Trustees

board docs logo

Agendas, Minutes, and School Board Policy

Access recent agendas, meeting minutes, and ACSC's board policies on Board Docs. Also, agendas and minutes prior to January 1, 2019, are available at the bottom of this page. Additionally, budget documentation is available on our Financial Services page.

Our Vision

Avon Schools is a nationally recognized district of choice that embraces all students and prepares them to grow and thrive for their future.

all belong learn and grow


Strategic Goals

  • In cooperation with our community, we will become a Professional Learning Community (PLC) improving student achievement by providing equitable experiences and opportunities for all students. 
  • Create systemic and purposeful innovation opportunities to develop critical thinkers. 
  • Support student well-being, mental wellness, and the whole child (healthy, safe, engaged, supported, and challenged). 

Meet the ACSC Board of School Trustees

acsc board of school trustees

Photographed L-R: Anita D. Overton (Secretary); Gregory J. Dana (Vice President); Cynthia L. Simmons, (President); Kimberly L. Woodward (Member); Anne L. Engelhardt (Member)

email button

Cindy Simmons, President

Mrs. Simmons has served on the board for four years. She is a life-long resident of Avon and a retired teacher (MSD Wayne Township). She and her husband Roy have a son and three grandchildren.

email button

Gregory Dana, Vice President

Mr. Dana has served three years on the school board. He is a 20-year resident of Avon and works for the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association). Mr. Dana and his wife Jill have two children in Avon Schools.

email button

Anita Overton, Secretary

Mrs. Overton has been a member of the board for three years. She has lived in Avon since 2003. Mrs. Overton retired from the Federal Aviation  Administration (FAA) Indianapolis Air Traffic Control Center. She enjoys her two grandchildren who live with her and attend Avon High School. She also has three other grandchildren who live in Savannah, Georgia, with her daughter.

board member anne engelhardt
email button

Anne Engelhardt, Member

Mrs. Engelhardt has served as a member of the ACSC Board of Trustees for 14 years. She is a commercial broker with Vornholt and Associates. Mrs. Engelhardt has lived in Avon for 20 years. She and her husband Tim have five children and two grandchildren. 

email button

Kim Woodward, Member 

Mrs. Woodward was elected to the board in 2004. She is the Director of Human Resources for Cunningham Restaurant Group, operating 35 locations including Avon’s own Charbono's.  Mrs. Woodward is a 20-year resident of Avon. She and her husband Michael have two daughters (both AHS graduates), two sons-in-law (also both AHS graduates), and four grandsons.

Board Archive

Please contact Vicki Lengerich to access archived minutes.

Meeting Dates






exemplary governance awards logo

Avon School Board Receives ISBA Exemplary Governance Award 

The Avon Board of School Trustees received the 2019 Indiana School Board Association’s Exemplary Governance Award. Only three school boards in Indiana were recognized as “Distinguished.” The Exemplary Governance Award is bestowed to school boards that have shown extensive dedication to professional development through commitment to students, School Corporation and community as a result of outstanding leadership and excellence in school board governance.