• Alumni Banner

    Biographical/Historical Sketch of the Avon Alumni Association

    The Avon Alumni Association was established in the 1930s as a means for alumni from Avon High School to reunite for an evening of fellowship. The annual fee for a membership in the 1930s was 25 cents. The early events the association hosted were dances that were held in various school facilities around Avon. The association was disbanded until the late 1970s under the guidance of Lydia Gibbs, a former ACSC board member.
    The reorganized Avon Alumni Association began two important endeavors in the 1980s: the annual Alumni Banquet and the Avon Alumni Association Scholastic Fund. The Alumni Banquet originally consisted of a dinner, live entertainment and dancing, as well as a program. In the early 1990s, due to budgetary constraints, the banquet no longer included live music and dancing but instead focused on a more formal dinner and program. The program remains the highlight of the evening each year where the association honors former alumni and teachers and presents awards, which include the Oldest Alumni award, the Alumni of the Year award, and the Scholarship award. Additionally, the banquet features an in memorial section, to honor deceased alumni.
    The Avon Alumni Association Scholastic fund has raised and awarded well over $50,000 to college-bound Avon High School students. The annual scholarship award is a legacy scholarship awarded to students whose parents and/or grandparents have graduated from AHS. Scholarship applications are screened by a committee of alumni who are former teachers. The first scholarship winner (in the amount of $100) was awarded to Lisa Myers in 1985. Over time, the fund has grown, and winners now receive an award of $1,000. In 2017, the association established a trust fund (through the White Lick Heritage Foundation) for the Avon Washington Township Public Library to purchase yearbooks for the Huron Heritage Room Collection. 

    For more information about the Avon Alumni Association, please contact Mary Sue Lisby, 233 North County Road 900E, Avon, IN 46123. 



    This year’s AHS Alumni Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 25, 2020, from 4-6 p.m. at AHS's Advanced Learning Center Café. Robert Nibbs, Avon Class of 1970, has been selected as Alumnus of the Year and will be the guest speaker. 

    Robert holds an MBA from Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Business and MA/BS degrees from Ball State University. Robert is a member of Kappa Alpha Psi fraternity. Robert has held executive level positions with XO Communications, The Uriel Group, KMC Telecom holdings and several Telecommunications Corporations. He has participated in numerous executive education programs at the University of Michigan Ross School of Business, Williams College and Indiana University. He has participated in international study programs in Eastern Europe, Western Europe, Asia, South Africa and Central America. Robert is an Alumni Fellow with Leadership Atlanta, Leadership Greater Chicago and Leadership Indianapolis. In 2006 Robert co-authored a book entitled “Leadership: Helping Others to Succeed.”

    The honored class at this year’s Alumni Banquet is the Class of 1970. All classes ending in 0 will also be recognized. The Advanced Learning Cafeteria (ALC) is located on the east side of Avon High School, 7575 East County Road 150 South, Avon, Indiana, at door #12.  

    Advance reservations are highly recommended in order to ensure adequate seating and catering arrangements. The cost for attending the banquet is $25 per person. Please send checks (payable to the Avon Alumni Association) to: Avon Alumni Association c/o 233 North County Road 900 East, Avon, IN 46123 with the names of all persons attending. Please include the year of graduation for all alumni with your reservation. For further information call 317.850.9410 or 317.273.1947.


     Robert "Bobby" Nibbs