Skip To Main Content

Desktop Translate

AHS Journalism Students Win IHSPA Awards

Katherine Langford (left) and Krishna Lathish (right) show off some of their award-winning newspaper content.

The Indiana High School Press Association recently announced the winners of its annual Harvey Award contests, recognizing the best individual efforts in scholastic journalism for the 2021 school year.

Avon High School newspaper students achieved recognition in eight categories, shown below. 

  • Katherine Langford – Feature Page – 1st Place  
  • Krishna Lathish – Writing Portfolio – 1st Place 
  • Mira Branham – Design Portfolio – 2nd Place
  • Krishna Lathish – Editorial Writing – 2nd Place
  • Krishna Lathish – Feature Writing – 2nd Place
  • Kaitlyn Mason – Feature Writing – Honorable Mention
  • Elshadai Aberra – Editorial Writing – Honorable Mention
  • Elshadai Aberra – Feature Writing – Honorable Mention 

Congratulations to Katherine and Krishna along with AHS '21 graduates, Mira, Kaitlyn, and Elshadai!


  • Academics
  • AHS
  • Students