Skip To Main Content

Desktop Translate

Celebrating Orioles: Lisa Kern

At the July 2021 meeting of the Avon Board of School Trustees, we recognized AHS teacher Lisa Kern.

Lisa is an AP Environmental Science and Chemistry Teacher at AHS. She is also the sponsor of our Eco Club at AHS. She is being recognized as a state finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) for 2021. 

These teachers are eligible to receive a PAEMST award, the nation’s highest honor for U.S. K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers. The awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Each State Finalist represents an outstanding Indiana teacher who serves as a model and an inspiration to students and fellow teachers.

Each year, a national committee of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district level personnel, and classroom teachers recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards. Up to two teachers—mathematics or science—from each state and territory receive the award.

The next step for this finalist is a national review where one will be selected to represent the state of Indiana as an awardee.

Congratulations, Lisa!

  • AHS
  • Educators