Skip To Main Content

Desktop Translate

Meet Our '23 Lilly Endowment Scholars

Meet Our '23 Lilly Endowment Scholars

On January 3, the Hendricks County Community Foundation announced the winners of 2023 Lilly Endowment Scholarships. Two of the three Hendricks County recipients will graduate from Avon High School this spring.

Congratulations, Emma Cremeans and Katherine Langford!

These scholarships, awarded annually to three Hendricks County seniors, provide full tuition to any Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university and a yearly book and equipment stipend. These prestigious scholarships are awarded on the basis of significant community service, demonstrated leadership skill, and high academic achievement. 

“Winning this scholarship changes my life,” said Emma. “Not only does it solidify where I will be going to school, it also allows me to pursue my dreams.” Emma will work toward a bachelor’s degree in Illustration at IUPUI so she can pursue a career in studio film production. At AHS, Emma has held multiple leadership roles in Animation Club, International Thespian Society, Japanese National Honor Society, National Art Honor Society, National Honor Society, National Speech & Debate Association, and Show Choir. In addition to this prestigious scholarship, Emma has won awards from the Hendricks County Art Council, the US Congressional Art Competition, Scholastic Art Awards Program, and the Presidential Academic Award. 

Katherine will pursue a degree in Political Science and Applied Statistics at the University of Notre Dame. “My ultimate goal is to use data-backed policy and programs to help Hoosiers through local and state government initiatives,” said Katherine. “There were many deserving seniors throughout Hendricks County, and it is an honor to be among the three who were awarded the scholarship.” Active at school and in the community, Katherine founded and leads Rise. This reading mentorship program for girls is in its fourth year and now operates in three Hendricks County schools. She also founded the Hendricks County Speakers Bureau to connect knowledgeable speakers to clubs, organizations, and classrooms. She is the Indiana DECA State President, a Congress Debate Indiana State Champion, and Co-Team Captain of the AHS Speech & Debate team. She also serves as Vice President of Student Affairs in the AHS Student Government. 

“I am so proud of Emma and Katherine,” said AHS Principal Matt Shockley. “They are leaving a legacy of service, leadership, and the highest academic achievement at AHS. We are intentional about cultivating a culture of accountability, respect, and engagement in our school, and these two embody these values. They have already done so much, and I cannot wait to see what they accomplish in the future.” 

“Emma and Katherine are excellent representatives of Avon Schools,” said Avon Schools Superintendent Dr. Scott Wyndham. “Katherine spent her entire educational career in Avon Schools and Emma has been an Oriole since middle school. While their success certainly reflects their character and achievement as individuals, it also points to the investment of countless educators, administrators, support staff, coaches, and volunteers in our school corporation.” 

Katherine is quick to share credit. “Avon teachers, students, and administration provide a supportive culture for community involvement, and I’m lucky to have spent my high school career here.” 


  • AHS
  • Academics
  • All Belong Learn Grow
  • Students