Return to Headlines

ACSC Teacher of the Year is Heather Meunier!

Avon Community School Corporation’s Andy Mohr Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Heather Meunier! She teaches Honors/AP English at Avon High School. Mrs. Meunier was presented with the award by Andy Mohr Automotive CEO Andy Mohr. She was selected by a committee comprised of local community members.

Mrs. Meunier has taught at Avon High School during her entire 10-year teaching career. She is the co-founder and sponsor of the Interact (Rotary) Club. She is a past recipient of the Joseph B. Whitehead Educator of Distinction Award and Seniors Choice Award. She is known for being an involved and caring educator. One of her students noted, “Mrs. Meunier took the time to make a PowerPoint presentation at the end of the year to tell everyone what she like about them. She paid attention to us as individuals and got to know us.”

In addition to a generous cash gift, a crystal award and plaque, Mrs. Meunier will receive a cash award from the Sharon Pinnick Educational Fund, (Hendricks County Community Foundation), a membership at the Hendricks Regional Health YMCA, as well as a floral arrangement from McNamara Florist. 

The other candidates (who were previously selected as their school building’s Teachers of the Year) included: Cory Falk (Avon Middle School North); Kim Shambaugh (Avon Middle School South); Kyle Slaven (Avon Intermediate School East); Laura Kaiser (Avon Intermediate School West); Allegra Donelson (Cedar Elementary); Emily Waggoner (Hickory Elementary); Dana George (Maple Elementary); Brenda Allspaw (Pine Tree Elementary); Dawn Alexander (River Birch Elementary); Ashley Porter (Sycamore Elementary); and Kristen Isbell (White Oak Elementary).

Avon Community School Corporation submitted Mrs. Meunier’s dynamic portfolio to the Indiana Department of Education for the state’s selection process of the Indiana Teacher of the Year award.