Return to Headlines

ACSC Teacher of the Year is Stephanie Chenoweth

Avon Community School Corporation’s Andy Mohr Teacher of the Year is Avon High School Teacher Stephanie Chenoweth. She was selected by a committee comprised of local community members.

Mrs. Chenoweth has taught Geography, U.S. History and History of the World at AHS for 15 years. The Butler University graduate received the Golden Apple Award in 2018, Seniors’ Choice Award in 2010 and the Rising Star Award in 2009.  Mrs. Chenoweth mentioned that one of her goals as a teacher and coach is, “To cultivate positive relationships with students and colleagues giving clear expectations to create an active learning environment for all students.”   

In addition to a generous cash gift and crystal award, Mrs. Chenoweth will receive a cash award from the Sharon Pinnick Educational Fund, (Hendricks County Community Foundation), a floral arrangement and a membership at the Hendricks Regional Health YMCA.

The other candidates (who were previously selected as their schools’ Teachers of the Year) included: Brian Richards (Avon Middle School North); Chris Gullion (Avon Middle School South); Hilary Barkley (Avon Intermediate School East); Lori Rosemeyer (Avon Intermediate School West); Mallory Jurkash (Cedar Elementary); Madeline Maish (Hickory Elementary); Julie Stevens (Maple Elementary); Bonnie Booher (Pine Tree Elementary); Kali Wheeler (River Birch Elementary); Charlsie Rader (Sycamore Elementary); and Haylee Green (White Oak Elementary).

Avon Community School Corporation submitted Mrs. Chenoweth’s impressive portfolio to the Indiana Department of Education for the state’s selection process of the Indiana Teacher of the Year award.