Return to Headlines

ACSC Teachers Awarded Lilly Endowment Fellowships

Two Avon Community School Corporation teachers were named recipients of the Lilly Endowment Teacher Creativity Fellowship. They are among 100 K-12 educators who will receive $12,000 grants to support personally and professionally fulfilling projects.

Avon Intermediate School East 5th Grade Teacher Janette Fluharty was chosen for her submission, “An Elysian Journey in Glass.” She plans to explore the renowned hubs of the glass art society in the United States. In addition to visiting famous sites such as the Chihuly Museum, the Bullseye Glass factory, and the Seattle Glass Museum, she will take glass classes from artists in Salt Lake City, Las Vegas, Portland, Seattle and San Francisco. After completing her trip and classes, Ms. Fluharty will share her newfound knowledge by hosting mini-art glass workshops for her students and friends. 

Susanne Clark, Avon Middle School North teacher, will use her grant to travel South America for her submission “English Forbidden: Spanish and German Immersion in Chile, Argentina and Uruguay.” She plans to visit many towns in Argentina, Uruguay, and Chile that have German heritage, along with several schools including German-immersion schools. Mrs. Clark, who is originally from Germany, plans to forego speaking English, only speaking Spanish and German while traveling for her own “full immersion” experience. 


Past ACSC Lilly Endowment Winners

2019 - David Murphy - South - Engineering and Technology

2019 - Kyle Nelson - AHS - Spanish

2018 - Stephanie Bode - AHS - Asst. Principal

2018 - Aaron Meacham - AHS - English

2016 - Tony Record - AHS - Math

2015 - Jarod Emmons - AHS - Spanish

2015 - Chris Hill - AHS - Engineering Technology

2015 - Lori Taylor - West - 6th Grade

2014 - Lisa Kern - AHS – Science

2011- Gwynn Wills - East - Autism Consultant (retired)

2010 - Michelle Rollings - East - Art

2010 - Chad Seals - AHS - Spanish

2009 - Paul Haiducu (2 times) - AHS - Physics

2006 - Jarrod Gatlin - WO/Maple (in another district)

2005 - Mollie Gregory - AHS - Language Arts (retired)

1998 - David Webb - AHS - Social Studies (retired)